The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Eternal Fire: Annihilation

This is a really interesting discussion. Talk amongst yourselves!
theopologetics.podbean.com/2011/ … rnal-fire/

Been there Done that…

While certainly an improvement over ECT, it still represents a “loss” for the God who is overwhelmingly portrayed in scripture as completely succesful in His Victory.

Bobx3

Pretty interesting interview, though, huh?

Sweet intro music! :smiley:

Apparently part 1 (episode 54) had some comments on universalism.

Jason, check out Fudge’s take on 1 Cor 15, it should interest you.

If I “only” looked at the passages of judgment and punishment of sin, I’d believe in annihilation. If you’ll notice, Fudge’s book looks almost exclusively at judgment and punishment of sin and only briefly mentions a couple of the passages that indicate UR and doesn’t seriously consider the merits of UR. I studied his book intently while initially considering UR. And to be honest, I would have rather believed Annihilationism because such was much more “acceptable” to main-street Christianity and does not require a complete rethinking of soteriology and eschatology like it does with UR.

What does that mean? I hear this kind of man centered lingo only from universalists. God is complete, victorious and even “successful” in Himself. He doesn’t need us to demonstrate His “success” God would still be holy, loving and even successful if ALL went to hell, if ALL went to heaven or even if ALL cease to exist. It does not add nor take away.

His love, grace, holiness and even “success” is not contingent on where we go. That is true Christian lingo.

Well, as a non universalist here, I must say that that does not make sense. If God sent Christ into the world for a mission to accomplish and He did not accomplish it, how is He successful with regards to the mission?