The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Ever known a UR beliver convinced of CI or ECT

Hi guys,

I noticed an interesting topic on the Affirmative forum about any conservative evangelicals being convinced of UR(link below).

I was wondering the opposite. Have you known of any UR believer either revert to or change to the more traditional view of Hell (Conditional Immortality or Eternal Concious Torment)?

Conservative evangelicals as opposed to…? I am just curious. What does conservatism have to do with this? Is it a literal reading of scripture vs a non-literal reading?

On-topic:

I wish I has something nice to share, but I haven’t really met any URs in real life, so I’ve never seen one converted (or reverted) to ECT! I’m still a newbie to the UR idea myself, and you guys are pretty much the only URs I know…

Oxy, check the link in the first post. That thread was asking if we knew of any firmly convinced ECT traditional hell believers who became convinced of UR.

Sonia

LOL!! It’s not my opinion, she’s referring to the other thread. Therefore, if you have questions about that thread, go ask them in that thread. That’s all I was trying to say. I want people to post in here in response to her question. Sometimes people get close to trolling up a thread, getting it wildly off-topic, and I just didn’t want that to happen here.

Now, Oxy, as our little conversation is not really on-topic, I’ll let the moderators handle anything else off-topic in this thread. Have a great day! :slight_smile:

This OP used the term, “conservative” not the other thread.

I agree! therefore I am done**

On-topic… :wink:

Not yet myself, no. I don’t suppose it’s impossible, though. Someone who came to believe in UR due to poor arguments (their own and/or others), or because they thought they’d had a mystical experience, could easily reverse given better data and logic, or a stronger mystical experience, etc.