The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Is the Holy Spirit feminine?

What is your take on the gender of the Holy Spirit? The Aramaic texts seem to use feminine pronouns for the Holy Spirit. Do you believe it’s proper to refer to the Holy Spirit as She or Her? I think of the Trinity as a Divine Family-- the Father, the Mother-like Holy Spirit, and the Son Jesus. The church is also feminine and is as a bride-- so we will become part of the Divine Family. Is it proper to refer to the Holy Spirit as the Heavenly Mother? It seems people have been trying to fill the void left by denying the femininity of the Holy Spirit through Mary veneration or leaving Christianity altogether. Can this be avoided by reclaiming the femininity of the Holy Spirit as professed by the early church?

1 Like

I could see it argued both ways. I’m still new to the faith so see Him, my father-in-law who has been a Christian for decades sees the Holy Spirit as a Her now.

'Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you. Cherish her, and she will exalt you; embrace her, and she will honor you. The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. She will give you a garland to grace your head and present you with a glorious crown.” ’

Proverbs 4:6-9

1 Like

The word

Are you suggesting that the church is female? The Greek word which has been translated as “church” is “εκλλησια.” That is a feminine word. Greek words are masculine, feminine, or neuter. People and other mammals are male or female. There’s nothing female about a church.

The Greek word for “spirit” is “πνευμα” and it is neuter. However, that says nothing about the sex of the spirit of God… The Greek word for “God” is “θεος” which is a masculine word. Again this doesn’t imply that God is male. Jesus called God His “Father.” That might lead us into thinking God is male. Also we us the masculine pronoun “He” to refer to Him. But does that mean He’s male?