The Evangelical Universalist Forum

I've made peace with Anni... for now

Hello all,

I posted “For those who were Anni but are now UR”. I am an Annihilationist when it comes to eternal destiny and so I was curious why someone might move from Anni to UR. I got plenty of answers (scriptural, philosophical/theological, emotional).

I studied those passages and tried to interpret them best I could but there are just too many variables and I am not trained to exegete Greek and Hebrew yet. It’s just too hard for me to figure out right now. So I will put this issue to the side for a while. I believe that the Anni or CI position is a legitimate interpretation of the relevant texts and I am already strongly hopeful about universalism anyway.

I’ve read some posters here say that without UR being true it would be hard for them to love God or have hope but I don’t feel that way. I think of it this way: The very worst that could happen is that many (or most) people will be annihilated. A better option is that many (or most) will be saved and there will only be a few who will be annihilated. And the very best would be that all be saved. Those three options or any range in between them is something I can have peace with-- I can live without cognitive dissonance and still hold to that view (unlike ECT or hyper-Calvinism).

But I I’ve made peace with Anni for now and perhaps will study the issue again after I have attended seminary (God-willing).

Thank you for being kind enough to help me try to understand the issues better.

God bless,
Warren

I believe that the Anni or CI position is a legitimate interpretation of the relevant texts and I am already strongly hopeful about universalism anyway.