The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Original post deleted

Deleted originally post.

deleted post

deleted

Chris, I know you addressed these words to Qaz, but I want you to know that I read your posts, but failed to understand them, in spite of the fact that I graduated from university with a Bachelor of Science degree, and then took an additional year at university beyond that.

All I can say is that if God were “satisfied” by punishing His Son instead of us guilty human beings and allowing Him to be put do death in our place so that we wouldn’t have to receive the death penalty for sin (“the wages of sin is death” Romans 6:23), then God would be unjust indeed!

Would a human father be satisfied to punish one of his fully innocent sons for crimes committed by one of his other sons?

When you read the reasons given in the New Testament for the reasons that Christ died for us, you don’t find that He died in order to satisfy God’s anger so that He wouldn’t punish us, but was happy to punish His innocent Son instead of us. Here are the reasons you do find as given for Christ’s death:

I Peter 2:24 He himself endured our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness . By his wounds you have been healed.

II Corinthians 5:15 And he died for all, that those who live might live no longer for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised.

Romans 14:9 For to this end Christ died and lived again, that he might be Lord both of the dead and of the living .

Titus 2:14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all iniquity and to purify for himself a people of his own who are zealous for good deeds .

Heb 9:26 …he has appeared once for all at the end of the age for the abolition of sin by the sacrifice of himself.

3 Likes

deleted