The Evangelical Universalist Forum

The meaning of δικαιοσύνη

I am interested in a conclusion as to what this word means.
A dialogue was started here:

I was following this with interest but it has been left ‘hanging’.
I am no expert in koine Greek but I don’t like to be misinformed by those who either ARE knowledgeable or those who purport to be knowledgeable.
I think there’s nothing worse for the testimony of EU than if we make false claims (even if done so in absolute innocence and with the best of intentions). Such claims may drive a sincere seeker away from the (possible) truth of the unconditional universal love of God.
My faith is not built upon the foundation good knowledge of Greek, nor even scripture but upon my experience of the Living Word within my heart. That said, it is vital that I do not mislead people by making erroneous claims.

I would be grateful if anyone could shed further light on the meaning of ‘dikaiosune’.

pilgrim:

I’m not the expert you’re looking for, but I’m quite certain Jason Pratt has addressed this at some length elsewhere on this site.
A quick google gave me these results, none of which is the one I’m thinking of.
Perhaps Jason can help us here…

Jasons discussion with theopologetics
[To Jason: Meaning of δικαιοσύνη)

[On The Reality Of The Victory Of God's Love And Justice)

[JRP vs. Matt Slick on the Sin Against the Holy Spirit)

Bobx3

Theopologetics convinced me with his Jan 6 2:48 PM post. What more can be said?

Once it has been shown that 2+2=4, one can talk around it for hours, but it still remains that 2+2=4.

I think that Theopologetics has clearly demonstrated that “συνη” is a Greek suffix which transforms an adjective into a noun just as “ness” does in English. In my opinion, it would be ludicrous to suppose that because the old English form of “ness” meant “nose”, that the English word “righeousness” is related to noses. Thus “συνη” probably has no relation to the Greek preposition “συν”.