The Evangelical Universalist Forum

McClymond Challenge

I am a universalist pastor and received this letter and email link from a close Calvinist-Annihilationist relative of mine. Is anyone familiar with Michael McClymond’s book and videos well enough who can recommend a suitable response? And who do we have in the scholarly world that has written materials that can rebut academics like McClymond? I have Gregory MacDonald’s “The Evangelical Universalist” Parry Partridge’s “Universal Salvation? The Current Debate”, both books of which my relative has. Thanks.

"Universalism was NOT the teaching of the early church fathers. The first universalistic teachings came out of Gnostic teachings, NOT the Apostles’ teaching.

For those who have time, Michael McClymond wrote ‘The Devil’s Redemption: A New History and Interpretation of Christian Universalism’, a two volume in depth look at Universalism in Christianity and church history. He looks not only at the different times universalism has surfaced, but the different flavours and factors that played a role in it.

You can listen to an interview he did (which touches on Universalism’s gnostic roots) here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-aZbNg_OIg

1 Like